Corporate Wellness, Employee Health, Health & Wellness, Human Resources

Physical Exercise for the Busy Employee

I find that some days are so jam-packed with activities, that there’s little time for anything else – including a workout. Between work, family, and social events, there’s no room left in my calendar. I’m completely booked up. But I’ve found that there is sometimes more wiggle room than what appears at first sight and I’ve still found a few ways to get active even on the busiest of days.
BusyLifestyle

 

My first step is to plan out my week. I schedule my workouts in my google calendar for the days when I have more time. I block out that hour so that other activities can’t be scheduled at that time. It’s reserved just for me – and a much-needed stress-reducing bike ride.

Another idea that has worked for me is to take a walk while taking lunch. A quick 10-minute walk can be refreshing and lets your body move around a little.

I often get off the subway a stop early and get an extra 10-minute morning/evening walk in as well. Including lunch, that’s a 30-minute walk on a day I thought I was too busy to move around.

If I know it’s a busy week for me and I won’t make it to my yoga class, I’ll make sure to take the stairs instead of the elevator.Walking up and down 5 flights of stairs 3 times a day is great for strengthening the leg muscles and a fantastic way to be active!

One step further – though I may not have an hour to workout during the day, I do have 5 minutes each hour. 12 hours later – you’ve done a 60-minute workout without changing your clothes. There’s a lot of ways I do this – pushups and sit-ups (alternating between both), dips and squats (using my office chair), walking up and down the stairs. Anyway, it’s healthy to take 5 minutes away from your computer each hour. Short breaks actually increase productivity! You might look silly, but I’ve learned that after the first few times, people get used to seeing it and it can actually inspire them to do the same

So often we get overwhelmed with the tasks we set for ourselves, but they can be broken down into little bite-sized pieces and still be just as effective.

Elaine Whitt
Elaine@fitbliss.com
FitBliss Health Engagement Manager


So what is FitBliss all about?

FitBliss is a millennialized corporate wellness platform. We create a simple & blissful employee experience for innovative workforces! Our clients agree!

Check us out on the Salesforce AppExchange & email us for a demo infobliss@fitbliss.com!

Standard

One thought on “Physical Exercise for the Busy Employee

Leave a Reply

